

Architecture Research Moments - 29th-30th January 2016

The European Architectural Research Network, ARENA, offers a shared platform that aims to promote, support, develop and disseminate high-quality research in all fields of architecture in the widest sense, including its links to building technology, environmental design, sustainable development, interior design, landscape architecture and urban design/urbanism, operating in domains from science and technology through to arts and humanities. One of the objectives is to support beginning researchers and PhD students in the field of architecture in improving the quality of their research.

Through ARM, the **Architecture Research Moments**, run by KU Leuven Faculty of Architecture, Campus Sint-Lucas, the ARENA network is hosting an international event at which early-stage researchers, doctoral students and post-docs are able to present their research project to experienced architectural researchers and have the work discussed by an international panel. After the successful editions in January 2014 and 2015, a third edition is organised in 2016.

The event is intended to bring together senior staff and early-stage researchers in order to improve research quality through intensive peer review at key intermediate stages. The Architecture Research Moments wish to contribute to the open and diverse field in architectural and artistic research, not giving any priority to one single approach and especially welcoming new and emerging fields, and hence including more established methods as well as focusing on newer fields such as research by design and through artistic practice. The event aims at stimulating researchers to interact mutually and benefit from participating in open discussions, whatever the stage of their research. Above all, ARM aims to be a lively, diverse and inclusive two-day event that brings together young researchers under the ARENA network!

Practical organisation:

When? Friday and Saturday, 29th-30th January 2016

Where? KU Leuven, Faculty of Architecture, Campus Sint-Lucas, Paleizenstraat 65-67, B-1030 Brussels.

What? During the two-day event, participants will present their research for 30 minutes each. It then will be discussed and peer-reviewed by an international panel (composed of senior researchers and post-docs) for another 30 minutes. The presentation can include traditional formats as a powerpoint, etc. We especially welcome exhibitions, performances, etc. Depending on the number of participants, parallel sessions will be organised if necessary. It is preferable that all participants attend the full two days as we judge the collective moment to be important for the learning process.

On Friday evening, a dinner will be organised (see below).

Participants are invited to produce full papers after the event which will be published in pdf-format online.

Fee: No fee is required for registration.

For the dinner, a 20 euro fee is due 2 weeks before the event (payment details will be communicated at the moment of the notification of acceptance).

Timeline: Deadline call for presentations and peer review: December 20, 2015

Notification of acceptance: January 6, 2016

Deadline full papers for publication: February 29, 2016

HOW TO PARTICIPATE?

I am a PhD candidate or a starting researcher intending to present

Call for presentations

Deadline December 20, 2015

Send your name, affiliation, e-mail address, title, short abstract (15 lines), 5 keywords to phd.architecture@kuleuven.be

I am a senior researcher or a post-doc willing to act as member of a review panel

Call for peer-review

Deadline December 20, 2015

Send your name, affiliation, e-mail address, short description of your research interests to phd.architecture@kuleuven.be

Scientific organisation: johan.verbeke@kuleuven.be

Practical organisation: phd.architecture@kuleuven.be

Scientific Committee:

Johan Verbeke, Murray Fraser, Fredrik Nilsson, Jo Van Den Berghe, Arnaud Hendrickx, Claus Peder Pedersen, Kevin McCartney, Oya Atalay Franck, Roberto Cavallo, Andrea Braidt, Maarten Van Volsem, Joao Barbosa Sequeira, Tadeja Zupanzic, Eli Støa



